Belarusian Economic Research and Outreach Center

BEROC Congratulates Postgraduate School Alumni 2011-2012

BEROC Postgraduate School in modern economics held in December 2011 – June 2012 is finally over. School program included 7 modules on macroeconomics, microeconomics, econometrics and research methods.

“I got interested in some modules of the Postgraduate School and decided to take part in it. The level of teaching appeared to be very high, so the impressions are positive”, shared his feedback our school alumni Yuri Mihalenok, employee of the National Bank of the Republic of Belarus.
 
 
Photo: Yuri Mihalenok
 
The module “Macroeconomics-2. Growth models: Heterogeneous Agent Macroeconomics module” was of particular interest to Yuri, as it was relevant to his scientific interests. He believes it to be a good result if he manages to use the acquired knowledge in his work.
 
Only 13 people out of more than 40 selected participants have succesfully graduated from the school. They have not only attended all the courses, but passed all the exams. “Studying was quite a challenge. One had to make serious efforts and do one’s best to qualify”, - said Natallia Smarshkova, economic department lecturer of the Belarusian State University of Informatics and Radioelectronics.
 
Photo: Natallia Smarshkova
 
One of the main objectives of the school was to spread modern international practices and theories in economics to young Belarusian specialists. “Participation in the project was a step up to my future career. The program helped me to systematize the knowledge I had already had and to obtain new one. Besides main work in the bank I lecture at the Belarusian State University, that is why it was interesting for me to adopt the internationally accepted style of teaching. I mean, first of all, the ability to present much information in a concise form”, commented our alumni Aleksandra Bezborodova, employee of the National Bank.
 
Photo: Aleksandra Bezborodova
 

Natallia Smarshkova uses the knowledge obtained at the Postgraduate School while teaching as well. Moreover, Natallia plans to continue her education abroad to get introduced to the most recent achievements in the modern economic science. She believes the Postgraduate school to contribute greatly to reaching her goal: “Participation in the Post Graduate school has become one of factors that helped me to receive Fulbright U.S. scholarship”.

According to participants, such projects promote and advance the creation of the academic community in Belarus. “The Postgraduate School helped to establish good contacts both with other project participants and with the lectures. It’s a good platform for further training of professionals”, - says Aleksandra Bezborodova. Natallia Smarshkova agrees to this opinion and believes that the Belarusian specialists are interested in development of the project: “I think Belarus lacks a school for MA economists. There will definitely be people willing to join it”.

BEROC team congratulate all the students who have successfully passed the Post Graduate School in economics 2011-2012:
Anastasiya Nikitsina
Aleksandra Bezborodova
Pavel Darahakupets
Aliaksandr Zaretski
Tatyana Yeroshenko
Diana Pleshkun
Andrei Pleshkun
Krystsina Manysheva
Yuri Mihalenok
Natallia Smarshkova
Veronika Alhanaqtah
Olga Peklina
Alina Hrusha 

 
Photo: Postgraduate school alumni and representatives from BEROC

Should you have any questions concerning postgraduate school do not hesitate contacting us at kuzmenkova@beroc.by.

Beroc

BEROC поздравляет выпускников Аспирантской школы 2011-2012

Занятия Аспирантской школы по современной экономике, проходившие с декабря 2011 по июнь 2012 года, завершились.

Аспирантская школа состояла из семи модулей, посвященных следующим темам: макроэкономика, микроэкономика, эконометрика, методы ведения экономических исследований. «Меня заинтересовали определенные модули Аспирантской школы, и я решил участвовать. Уровень школы оказался высоким, так что впечатления положительные», -- рассказал сотрудник Нацбанка, выпускник Аспирантской школы Юрий Михаленок.
 
 
На фото: Юрий Михаленок
 
По словам Юрия, особый интерес у него вызвал модуль "Макроэкономическое моделирование с гетерогенными (нерепрезентативными) агентами", поскольку эта тема находится в сфере его научных интересов. «Если получится достичь чего-то в исследованиях и использовать эти знания в научной работе, это будет хороший результат», -- считает Юрий Михаленок.
 
Из 40 слушателей, отобранных на первоначальном этапе, Аспирантскую школу успешно закончили 13 человек. Они не только прослушали полный курс лекций, но и успешно сдали экзамены и контрольные работы. «Учиться было непросто. Пришлось прилагать усилия», -- отметила одна из выпускниц, преподаватель кафедры экономики БГУИР Наталья Смаршкова.
 
 
На фото: Наталья Смаршкова
 
Целью Аспирантской школы является обучение молодых белорусских специалистов современным международным теориям и практикам в области экономики. «Для меня участие в проекте -- это новая ступень. Программа помогла систематизировать имеющиеся знания, а также получить новые. Помимо основной работы я преподаю в БГУ. Поэтому мне было интересно познакомиться с принятым в международной практике стилем преподавания. Это в первую очередь умение преподнести в сжатой форме большой объем информации», -- рассказала выпускница Аспирантской школы, сотрудник Нацбанка Александра Безбородова.
 
 
На фото: Александра Безбородова
 
Знания, полученные в Аспирантской школе, в своей преподавательской работе использует и Наталья Смаршкова. Кроме того, Наталья планирует продолжить образование за рубежом, чтобы познакомиться с самыми современными достижениями экономической науки. Она считает, что участие в Аспирантской школе стало важным  шагом на пути к достижению этой цели. «Участие в Аспирантской школе, как мне кажется, стало одним из факторов, благодаря которым мне удалось получить Фуллбрайтовскую стипендию», -- рассказала Наталья Смаршкова.
 
По мнению слушателей, такого рода проекты важны и для создания академического сообщества в Беларуси. По словам Александры Безбородовой, Аспирантская школа помогла создать хорошие контакты как с другими участниками, так и с преподавателями. «Мне кажется, это хорошая площадка для дальнейшей подготовки профессионалов», -- сказала она. По мнению Натальи Смаршковой, белорусские экономисты заинтересованы в развитии проекта: «Я считаю, что в Беларуси необходима школа для экономистов магистерского уровня. Обязательно найдутся желающие в ней учиться», -- считает Наталья Смаршкова.
 
Команда BEROC поздравляет выпускников Аспирантской школы 2011-2012 года, которые успешно сдали все экзамены:
Анастасию Никитину
Александру Безбородову
Павла Дорогокупца
Александра Зарецкого
Татьяну Ерошенко
Диану Плешкун
Андрея Плешкуна
Кристину Манышеву
Юрия Михаленко
Наталью Смаршкову
Веронику Альханакта
Ольгу Пеклину
Алину Груша
 
 
На фото: выпускники Аспирантской школы и представители BEROC

По всем вопросам, связанным с Аспирантской школой, обращайтесь по электронному адресу kuzmenkova@beroc.by